Operating times & stoppages

We keep you up to date with operating times and occasional stoppages.

Bridgewater Canal Notice No. 11/2017

Notice is hereby given that due to the inspection and cleaning of the Merchants Footbridge, (situated in Castlefield, Manchester City Centre) the Canal will be closed to all navigation during the following dates and times;

Monday 20th November 2017 - Navigation closed 08.00am to 4:30pm

Tuesday 21st November 2017 - Navigation closed 08.00am to 4:30pm

Wednesday 22nd November 2017 - Navigation closed 08.00am to 4:30pm

Thursday 23rd November 2017 - Navigation closed 08.00am to 4:30pm

Friday 24th November 2017 - Navigation closed 08.00am to 4:30pm

Saturday 25th November 2017 - Navigation open as normal

Sunday 26th November 2017 - Navigation open as normal

Monday 27th November 2017 - Navigation closed 08.00am to 4:30pm

Tuesday 28th November 2017 - Navigation closed 08.00am to 4:30pm

Wednesday 29th November 2017 - Navigation closed 08.00am to 4:30pm

Thursday 30th November 2017 - Navigation open as normal

Please note that during the closure of navigation boats will not be able to navigate in or out of the Castlefield basin or access lock 92 onto the Rochdale Canal.

Merchants Footbridge will also be closed to pedestrian traffic between 10am –11:30am and 2pm – 3:30pm during the course of the works.

For further information or updates concerning progress of the works please visit the Bridgewater Canal website during the period of the closure and remain vigilant and obey any instructions posted locally.

The Bridgewater Canal Company apologises for any inconvenience that these necessary works may cause.

We use cookies to help us provide you with a better service, but do not track anything that can be used to personally identify you.

If you prefer us not to set these cookies, please visit our Cookie Settings page or continue browsing our site to accept them.